The transportation of alcoholic liquors within, into or through the State of West Virginia will be transported in compliance with the West Virginia State Code §60-6-12, and Legislative Rule §175-1-7.1 et seq.
§175-1-7.1.1 “Before any person shall transport, for hire, any alcoholic liquors in quantities in excess of one (1) gallon within, into or through the State of West Virginia, and such alcoholic liquors are to be sold commercially, such person shall give a surety bond, approved by the Attorney General as to form and execution, and by the West Virginia Alcohol Beverage Control Commissioner as to sufficiency, payable to the State of West Virginia in the penalty of one thousand dollars ($1,000.00) conditioned that such person will exercise the privileges granted by such permit in conformity with the provisions of the Liquor Control Act and the regulations of the Commissioner, or in default thereof forfeit to the state school fund for each breach recoverable by motion upon ten (10) days notice in any court having jurisdiction of the parties. Each person so transporting such alcoholic liquors, in addition to the bond aforesaid, shall pay unto the West Virginia Alcohol Beverage Control Commissioner ten dollars ($10.00) for the first permit and one ($1.00) for each duplicate permit so issued. In the case of motor carriers for hire, a permit issued by the Commissioner under seal showing that the required bond has been given and fee paid shall accompany the alcoholic liquors at all times during transportation. In the case of air carriers for hire, a permit issued by the Commissioner under seal showing that the required bond has been given and the fee paid shall be filed in the principal office of such carrier in this State.”
For direct shipping of wine, carriers are required to obtain a written or electronic signature, upon delivery, of an adult resident who the carrier verifies is at least twenty-one years of age or older and if the carrier is not able to obtain a signature of a verified adult resident at least twenty-one years of age or older, then the carrier may not complete the delivery of the wine shipment.
The privileges, duties and responsibilities for alcohol transportation licensees is detailed in Legislative Rule CSR Series 1 and authorized by West Virginia Code §60.
Related Forms and Packets:
Alcohol Transportation Permit Application Packet
Alcohol Transportation Monthly Report